2 YEARS & 5 MONTHS - 21 Dec 2012

We're actually starting to get a routine going now. Unfortunately, it doesn't involve me jogging anywhere, but I hope we can get that in there in the new year - New Year resolutions and all that....
So, Albert gets up before I'm even conscious and leaves the house around the time I kind of start stirring... Liva and Laia come into our bed around the time Albert gets up or shortly before - so around 5:00. The first few days they insisted on getting up when papa got up, but soon learned that was pointless - and NO fun since mommy was in a terrible, terrible mood at 5:00!! So now they actually sleep in the bed with me until 6:00 or 6:30, yesterday until almost 7:00 and this morning - when I didn't have to get up coz I had a day off - until 7:30. WOW!! Anyway, on a regular day we'll get up around 6:00 or 6:30 depending on whether I have to go into the office in Copenhagen or am working at home. I get breakfast ready for Liva and Laia, then shower while they eat. If they finish eating before I finish my shower they just play or come into the bathroom and touch all my creams and lotions they know they're not supposed to be touching (they're smart enough to realize I'm in the shower and can't do anything about it). They "help" me dress - pass me my clothes - then brush their teeth while I do my make-up. They get dressed when I'm all done - and yes, they pretty much dress themselves, I just make sure the clothes is the right way around. They can even get their socks on by themselves! (Proud mom!) Between 7:20 and 7:40 we leave the house, I drop Liva and Laia off at daycare, then either go to Helsingør station and take the train to Copenhagen or back home. When I work from home I'm back home around 8:00, giving me an hour before I have to switch on the computer. I spend that time organizing the kitchen and living room (which doesn't get done the days I go to Copenhagen, we come home at 17:00 to a messy house), doing laundry and mostly quickly vacuuming since I normally have students here the afternoons I work at home. I make coffee and at 9:00 I start working. I normally finish at 12:00, have lunch and get ready for my student at 12:30 for 2-2,5 hours. If I don't have a student I continue working for another 2 hours. After work I prepare dinner, go shopping, then pick up Liva and Laia. When we come home, we all sit together on the couch for a bit while they have a small snack, then I cook dinner, lately with Liva and Laia's help which is great fun for all 3 of us, though it does create a HUGE mess... Albert comes home around 18:00, just in time for dinner, and around 19:00/19:30 we put Liva and Laia to bed. The days I work in Copenhagen I pick up Liva and Laia from daycare as soon as I am back in Helsingør, I try to have dinner already prepared, usually from the night before. That gives me more time with Liva and Laia, and kind of eases my bad conscience for leaving them at daycare until almost 17:00.
I have started "interviewing" potential babysitters and house help, I was forced to take a day off today since the daycare was closed, my mom was ill, my nephew was ill and the twin-girls next door were working, so we had no babysitter. There will be more days in the future where the daycare will be closed but Albert and I will both need to work, so we need to have someone who can help us. We also need someone to come once a week to pick up Liva and Laia from daycare and be with them at home until Albert gets home around 18:00, since I will be teaching late one day a week from mid-January. And it would just generally be nice to have someone to help out if the girls are sick, have to be picked up and we can't do it or if Albert and I want to go out and my parents for some reason can't babysit. We hope that whoever we find will also be willing to clean once a week! :) That might give me time to go jogging those 2 days a week I work from home... I interviewed a very sweet girl today, 22 years old, half Danish, half Colombian, Liva and Laia instantly liked her, as did I! I have other potential babysitters who I am supposed to arrange a meeting with after Christmas, but I liked the one today so much, I'm considering just giving her the job. On the other hand, I don't like not exploring the market to see what's out there. But if we were lucky enough to find one of the best ones out there straight away, why spend more time meeting others? And what if I meet some real freaks who will just make me worry and make me reconsider the whole babysitting thing? I'll think about it over the next few days, Albert said if Liva, Laia and I were all happy with the one today he was fine with taking her without meeting others. We need a babysitter on Friday since we both work Thursday and Friday next week but the daycare is closed for christmas. The girls next door might be available, but if they aren't we'd need someone else since my parents and brother can't help out that day. So maybe it will end up being the girl from today... I'm actually quite excited, it will be nice to have a babysitter in our lives again and get some more free time!

No comments:

Post a Comment